My Poem Autism- Too much information-(TMI)

In my world, there is sometimes too much information or TMI.

I am sitting in a busy event loud music is playing, a siren starts to wail, I see the sunlight reflecting on a car.

People walking, talking, stopping, laughing, eating, and sitting.

I put earplugs in my ears to try to stop the noise,

But the noise leaks through anyways.

I want to softly rock all of it away,

But I know I can’t.

People would stare, and the shame, oh the shame would come onto me.

So I wait, the minutes slowly dragging out, slowly I start to feel the energy draining out of me.

I can’t take this anymore, so I hunch over and try to shut it all out.

I feel like I want to scream.

People try to help me, they ask me what is wrong. but sometimes I just can’t tell then

because I am so overwhelmed.

I eat in silence, wishing it would all stop.

Suddenly the music stops, and the noise level becomes more bearable.

I find my energy returning, going through my body, I feel a little better now.

But still, I am tired from all the information.

This is what it is like to have Autism.

~Makayla

 

photo credit: Kevin Doncaster <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/52766811@N06/27918824411″>Ready</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

