Social Anxiety and me

I have anxiety. I worry about what people think of me. I’m constantly criticizing myself. “Oh my gosh!!! You totally messed up on that!! You’re not supposed to talk about that. They probably aren’t interested in what you are talking about.” *Sigh*. Before performing my stomach tightens and I feel like I cannot breathe. It’s almost like I am wearing a belt with 20 notches in it and the belt is on the 20th notch. My stomach gets tight also when I’m just going to my extra activities.

I know that my friends and family probably don’t hate me, but sometimes my brain just won’t be quiet. I hate change. Change for me can be very hard. I get anxious because things become unpredictable. Sometimes I even stay up late at night because my brain is telling me all of the things I could’ve done wrong with socializing. I also can’t talk to strangers a lot. It’s not that I hate people, I’m just too anxious. I have several coping skills that I use to help me with my social anxiety.

  • Music (Celtic woman, Rachel Platten fight song, etc.)
  • Drawing (Manga chibis, painting, etc.)
  • Reading a good book (Novels, Manga books, etc.)

So this is what it’s like to have social anxiety. Hopefully I will discover more coping skills to use as I go along in life. If any of the coping skills I listed sound like it might be a good try for you, then feel free to try it. 😊

photo credit: DiariVeu – laveupv.com <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/93060662@N03/27897974422″>GettyImages – tristor</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

