What does sensory overload feel like?

Sensory overload is unpleasant to deal with. As an autistic person I find being overloaded to be very stressful and tiring. The main sensory stimuli that overloads me is bright or flashing lights,  loud noise, and a lot of people (external movement). My overload starts small with a little bit of anxiety, as the overload drags on I become more overwhelmed by the offending thing.

Depending on how much time I am in overload, I can become really tired from the constant stress I am enduring. When the offending sensory stimuli is stopped then I start feeling better again, but often I become agitated or exhausted from sensory overload depending on how long the overload lasts.

The best thing for me to recover from sensory overload is to eat if I need to, and rest. Eventually, the effects of the overload wear off, and I feel calm and happy.

This is what it feels like to have sensory overload.

 

photo credit: Ars Electronica <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/36085842@N06/13994747444″>Human brain illustrated with millions of small nerves</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

