Autistic strengths and weaknesses

As an Autistic person, I have both strengths and weaknesses. Here are some Autistic strengths and weaknesses from http://autismtopics.org/t12%20autism%20strengths.html

Other Autistic strengths that I found on this website are

  • Often highly skilled in a particular area
  • Attention to detail
  • Deep study resulting in encyclopedic knowledge on areas of interest
  • Tendency to be logical
  • Less concern for what other may think of them
  • Usually visual processing
  • Often very verbal
  • Direct communication
  • Loyalty
  • Honesty
  • Non-judgemental listening
  • Average to above average intelligence
  • May have a very good memory
  • Have deep passions and intense interests

 

My Autistic strengths and weaknesses

Strengths

  • Smart
  • Artistic
  • Able to stick to a routine
  • Problem solver
  • Good at working with animals
  • Forgiving
  • Rule-bound
  • Detail oriented
  • Loyal
  • Talented
  • Musical
  • Accepting
  • Really good memory
  • Responsible
  • Videogames

Weaknesses

  • Anxiety
  • Socializing
  • Jokes/Sarcasm
  • Making new friends
  • Mistakes
  • Flexibility
  • Expressing feelings

I am not going to include my sensory issues as a weakness because it’s not something that I choose to do. It’s something that is wired into me.

As an Autistic person, I feel that it’s important for Autistic people to look at their strengths and weaknesses. I also feel that it is important for friends and family of an Autistic person to try to build on the Autistic person’s strengths and work on the weaknesses. One of my strengths is working with animals, so I am dreaming of one day becoming a horse trainer and training horses. Autistic strengths can turn into a career. An Autistic person’s interest in computers might land him/her in a really good computer job, Build on Autistic strengths.

 

photo credit: built4love.hain <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/128431605@N05/15275084679″>inherently human</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Autistic strengths and weaknesses

  1. I love this post. At times, it is hard to look at strengths and not just weaknesses. For me, I tend to only focus on my weakness of not being able to make friends and anxiety. Thank you for making me think of what strengths I do have that comes with being autistic. Very well said!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

