Dear Autism- A letter to my Autism

 

Dear Autism,

You have made me spend moments of my life not socializing a lot because I didn’t know how to socialize.

You have made me have multiple meltdowns and sensory overload whenever I heard loud sounds.

Because of you, I was bullied because I was different than others.

You have made me have anxiety almost constantly every day.

You have made me to where I have sensory issues. Flashing lights, loud noise, the stench of oatmeal, gagging, covering ears, etc.

You have made it to where others can’t truly understand what it’s like to live with you.

Because of you, I have to have routines, otherwise, I do not function very well.

You have made it to where it is difficult to deal with change and I get upset and anxious if there is a last minute change.

Now Autism, we will go to the positive things you have given me

Dear Autism,

Because of you, I pay attention to detail.

You have made me to where I am rule bound.

You have made me have an obsession with horses, which I am planning on turning into a career.

You have made me have a very good memory.

You have made me to where I stim- Flapping hands, rocking (which is very soothing), and spinning around and around in the office chair or outside.

and lastly Autism,

You have made me to where I am able to stick to routines every day.

 

Sincerely,

Makayla.

 

 

photo credit: lukas.b0 <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/48749553@N05/23514846824″>Pen Friends</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

Leave a Reply

