Temple Grandin-My Favorite Autistic Author.

 

Temple Grandin is one of my favorite people who is “Autistic”. Here are several reasons why I like her

  • She is a woman with Autism (like me)
  • She thinks there needs to be more research on sensory issues
  • She has sensory sensitivities
  • She is a visual thinker (like me)
  • She believes that people should look at the abilities of an Autistic people

So, how did I get to hear about Temple Grandin? Well, I had told my teacher that my doctor had told me of my Autism diagnoses. I hated keeping this inside of me, So I finally decided to tell her. It was a bit uncomfortable to admit it to her, but she was understanding. She said she had seen a Ted Talk on Autism by Temple Grandin, and she told me that she would show me the Ted Talk to me next time that we would have class.

After seeing the Ted Talk with Temple Grandin called “The world needs all kinds of minds.” I felt better about my diagnoses of Autism. I am thankful to have my teacher in my life. I’m also glad I told her that I am “Autistic” because now she can understand me better and I don’t feel so different.

I became more interested in Temple Grandin. I watched her movie and read some of her books. As I read her books I reflected on my past. My hatred of goopy vaseline and lotions, my selective eating, my sensitivity to noise, etc. The tips in her books were also very helpful for me, I use earplugs for my auditory sensitivities which has been very helpful for me.

And that is how I found out about Temple Grandin and is why she is my favorite Autistic Author.

photo credit: shannonkringen <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/18161271@N00/8759264065″>Temple Grandin by Shannon Kringen</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

Leave a Reply

