Selective eating problems and sensory issues with food.

I have always been selective of food since I was a baby, and I have sensory issues with food. I eat only a limited amount of foods that I can tolerate with my sensory issues. I will NOT EAT Bananas because they are horribly slimy, and I hate the smell of oatmeal (it has a horrible stench). I am sensitive to strong food smells, Mexican food makes me get chills. I also do not like a lot of foods that are mixed. If I think about eating a mixed food (let’s say green bean casserole) then I feel sick.

I also am sensitive to how my food is done. I do not like my chicken nuggets to be burnt, and I don’t like pita bread to be too crunchy. I like to eat spaghetti with a spoon, not a fork (forks are sharp and weird) also, I only like one brand of noodles, and one brand of spaghetti sauce (the brand that my mom uses). Once somebody used a different type of noodles that looked like rubber bands, I did not want to eat them at all.

I have learned to be a little more flexible with my selectivity issues with food lately. I am able to eat a few different brands of food, but it still takes some time to adjust because my body can taste the differences between the different brands of food. I am also sensitive to certain textures of foods. Bananas are slimy, and I don’t like apples because of the texture. I only can eat one brand of applesauce without having to worry too much about gagging.

The 2 other brands of applesauce are not good. One is way too textured and has apple peel in it (yuck!) and the other is runny and way too sweet. Gagging is not a good feeling at all. It feels like I’m almost going to upchuck sometimes. Believe me, once I was trying ketchup and I nearly did upchuck (*shiver*). I also like to eat the same things a lot.

When I go to a restaurant I order exactly the same things every time, I don’t change it a lot. Maybe there will be a little change, but I feel most comfortable when I am eating something I know I won’t gag on and that makes me feel more relaxed when eating out.

This is what it is like to have food selectivity and sensory issues with food.

 

photo credit: Cia de Foto <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/26611570@N04/3968290351″>0310</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

Leave a Reply

