Why I don’t like hugs very much.

As an Autistic person I can find hugs to be a bit overwhelming sometimes. Sometimes I can manage it, but it’s usually only with people I know.

Hugs can bother me because I have sensory issues. The sensation of being squeezed can be too much information for my brain to process and I stiffen up. I especially do not like out of the blue hugs because they overwhelm me.

I don’t hug a lot. I just don’t show affection by hugging. I like to show affection verbally, by writing, or by giving gifts. Another thing is that I don’t like hugs from people I don’t know.

Hugs from people I do not know feels weird and can be overwhelming. I usually end up backing away to show that I don’t want to be hugged. I am working on being able to tolerate hugs better. I do appreciate it when people ask permission before hugging me, this gives me time to prepare mentally before receiving a hug.

maybe someday I will be able to hug somebody or have somebody hug me without feeling overwhelmed or anxious. 🙂

 

photo credit: rema1n5 <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/77353192@N06/15968990592″>Girl embraces a guy</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

One thought on “Why I don’t like hugs very much.

  1. i love hugs, though a lot of them feel really lame because many people are so prudish about them. when i hug people from other countries, theyre often way better. some americans can hug really well– a lot of them have families from other countries, but some are good at hugging anyway.

    what does this have to do with your post? i will tell you– your post is extremely well written and informative. if i wanted to give you a hug, i would follow it to the letter. maybe id talk to you first and let you know id like to hug you. id always give you time to prepare. i appreciate that youre overwhelmed by them– i appreciate even more how very well you explain how to minimize the problem and hug you properly.

    if you hugged me, id know how much effort you put into that sort of thing, and id probably be very flattered even if it was a very soft/light hug.

    if we were good friends, id also let you practice on me– maybe its easier for you to hug than be hugged, i dont really know– you could find out by being the one to start the hug instead of the hug coming to you. i hope it gets easier for you in the future, but you make it about as easy to understand your situation as anyone could.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

