I like fireworks- but I hate the noise.

Fireworks, They are beautiful to watch. But, they are super noisy. Last year my family set off some small fireworks in our backyard (legally of course). I went inside the house because I knew they would be noisy. I watched from my window and a firework went up and went “ScreeeeeePOW!!” I jumped and then watched the colors. I like the colors of fireworks, but not the noise.

The best way for me to watch fireworks is from a distance. This way I can see the beautiful colors, but not hear the loud noise. Also another option for me is to watch fireworks videos on the computer, I totally have control with the volume on the computer. 🙂 I think there needs to be special consideration for autistic people and people with other disorders concerning fireworks. I think there should be special places set up for autistic people to be in so they can not hear the noise. A window in the place would be nice so that they could still see the fireworks, but not hear the loud noise.

Earplugs could probably help with some of the sound sensitivity to fireworks. I love my earplugs, I use them at many places (only for short periods of time) to help with my noise sensitivity. So this Fourth of July I am going to put in my earplugs and watch the fireworks from my window. I definitely WILL NOT be going outside, as the noise could trigger sensory overload or a meltdown/shutdown. I think fireworks are great, they are just a bit too loud for my sensitive ears. 🙂

 

photo credit: yecatsiswhere <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/134349901@N04/31208493393″>Happy New Year!</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

Leave a Reply

