Autism is not a tragedy.

Autism is not a tragedy, let me repeat, Autism is NOT a tragedy. Autism is just a way of being different. I hate it when people talk about a “cure” for Autism. Wanting a “cure” for Autism is like saying that you wish that Autistic people didn’t exist, and it makes it sound like we are diseased. Autism is NOT a disease, it’s a way of being different.

I don’t need “Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that!” from somebody if I tell them I have autism. I would rather hear “Oh, well I still think you’re awesome, even though you are different. How can I support you?” This would help a lot of Autistic people. Autism may be hard sometimes, it may be hard to deal with the meltdowns, the shutdowns, the sensory overload, the misunderstanding, the socialization difficulties, and the anxiety. But, that doesn’t mean that we can’t do things that neurotypical people can do.

I play the piano, I work with my horse Shadow doing Parelli natural horsemanship and I’m proud to say that I’ve passed my level 1 online and level 2 online. 🙂 I also draw, and I do a sport called equestrian vaulting. I also sing too. I can do the same things neurotypical people can do.

The tragedy is not being accepting of autistic people. Acceptance is the greatest thing you can do for an autistic person. Acceptance means not judging, not trying to make the autistic person “normal”, not denying things that they are struggling with, supporting them, and loving them for who they are. 🙂

Autism is NOT a tragedy. And I’m proud of being Autistic. 🙂

 

photo credit: citirecruitment <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/125303894@N06/14365668676″>Business Woman</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

Leave a Reply

