Weighted lap pads- I really want to have a weighted lap pad.

Weighted lap pads are like little weighted blankets filled with weighted beads, gel, or sand. Weighted lap pads can help Calm, comfort, and can also help a person focus. I would like to make a weighted lap pad with fabric, weighted beads, poly fill, and Minky fleece (because I like soft things).

In a previous post, I talked about my weighted blanket. It has helped me with my sleep immensely and whenever I get underneath it I feel comforted and calm, such a great feeling. 🙂 One of the reasons that I want a weighted lap pad is that I have anxiety, and I also have sensory issues. I think a weighted lap pad would help me feel less anxious, and would also help me focus too.

I don’t have bad problems with being distracted, I just sometimes can’t get myself to move to the next task. If something really is interesting to me, then I will really intently focus on it. I know people will probably be like “What is THAT thing?!?!” but, I think it’s more important that I feel good than what other people think. If somebody judges somebody for using a weighted lap pad, obviously the person does not know a lot about Autism or disability in general.

I’m going to go to the fabric store tomorrow and I’m going to look for some pretty, fun fabric to use for the top part, and then I’m going to look for Minky fleece to put on the bottom. 🙂 I also need to get weighted beads and poly fill. Then I will get started sewing my weighted lap pad (YAY!).

If you have a friend or family member that suffers from anxiety or has trouble focusing or has Autism/ or Sensory processing disorder, a weighted lap pad might help him/her, weighted lap pads don’t work for everyone, but it is worth a try. 🙂

 

photo credit: emden09 <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/93144534@N03/29468879510″>Boudoir Ava</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weighted lap pads- I really want to have a weighted lap pad.

Leave a Reply

