When others can’t understand my anxiety.

I have anxiety. Anxiety is one condition that is often comorbid with autism. I get anxious before social events.

If I have not seen somebody in a while I get really anxious. I pretty much spend the time counting down the days and trying to practice conversations in my head. I make movies in my head of what I will say and of what could go wrong.

When something is changed in my routine can get very anxious. Routine is my way of managing anxiety because things are “predictable” in a routine.

People sometimes don’t understand my anxiety. When I am trying to figure out a day full of events I will say that it is “complicated” and another person will say “No it’s not complicated”. It is for me, I literally plan everything out in my head for predictability to manage my anxiety.

Someday I hope that others will be able to understand my anxiety. Someday I hope somebody will say “I see that your having anxiety, and know it’s hard. Is there anything I can do to help?”

This is one of the challenging things for me as an Autistic person-Anxiety.

 

photo credit: michelle-robinson.com <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/77152181@N06/24531367966″>Trigger 2: Angry Words That Hurt</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

Leave a Reply

