Trying to explain Autism to a Neurotypical person is difficult.

Trying to explain Autism to a Neurotypical person is difficult. There are many things that I struggle with including

  • Anxiety
  • Social skills
  • Sensory processing
  • Meltdowns
  • Jokes/Sarcasm
  • Having to have a routine
  • Literal thinking (concrete thinking)

When I try to explain what I’m struggling with sometimes the NT (Neurotypical) person does not understand. I try to explain why sound bothers me, and that NO, not everybody struggles with sensory issues. Sometimes NT’s get mad at me because I didn’t understand them.

Sometimes I try to explain it in my own terms, but NT’s get confused “Oh, everybody struggles with that.” or “You need to try harder.” Believe me, I’m trying. Explaining Autism is difficult because NT’s can’t really feel the struggles of being Autistic. So, do I ever think anybody will understand me as an Autistic person? Probably not. I do have supportive people in my life that do understand me some but do not understand me completely. I have learned that it is not likely for somebody to understand all of my struggles, but that I have support to go to if I need it.

So that sums up why it is difficult to explain Autism to an NT person.

 

photo credit: Chris B Richmond <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/35652152@N07/26554232944″>Back Turned</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

One thought on “Trying to explain Autism to a Neurotypical person is difficult.

  1. I use the analogy of how a blind person going to the beach and experiencing the ocean is similar to how I empathize with others emotions. In the same way the ocean is real to the blind person others feelings are real to me. The blind person uses smell, taste, and touch to experience the ocean and may never fully understand how blue it is. I use logic to empathize with others emotions and may never fully understand their feelings, but their feelings are still real to me. If somebody says ‘try harder’ to understand others feelings … well… I simply ask them to explain the color blue using just smell/taste/touch/sound.

    Like

Leave a Reply

