Confessions of an Autistic person- I don’t like sudden sounds or movements.

I don’t like sudden sounds or movements. Sudden sounds or movements scare me and make me nervous. Once I had a person who didn’t know that I jump at sudden sounds and movements and she did a sudden sound and movement and I nearly jumped out of my skin.

I am hypersensitive in many areas of my sensory issues. I don’t like being touched, I am a selective eater, I have auditory hypersensitivity, I hate strong pungent odours, and I don’t like bright, flickering, or flashing lights. I think I get startled easily because my brain simply gets overloaded with information.

I don’t like it when I am scared, my heartbeat goes up and I get tense. I usually recover from it but if somebody did do a sudden sound or movement over and over again then I would probably get too overwhelmed and have to leave.

As an Autistic person sudden sounds or movements do not go well with me.

 

photo credit: Still Moments <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/34260342@N04/8405641224″>%5B_Δε χόοοοορορ! (/ The Horrooor) _]</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

Leave a Reply

