When I’m quiet I’m not ignoring you or trying to be rude.

Sometimes I am quiet. I am an introvert and I am autistic. I also have social anxiety. Sometimes I think people get confused or upset when I’m quiet because they read it as me ignoring them or trying to be rude.

I’m not ignoring people when I am quiet. In fact usually, when I am quiet I am listening to the conversation. I have trouble starting conversations (I’m working on that and it’s a goal for me to start a conversation eventually). Some days I’m able to talk pretty easily, others are very difficult.

It’s more difficult to talk to people if I haven’t seen them in a long time. I need time to adjust to being back around them, I will talk when I am ready to. I really wish people in my life would understand that I’m not trying to ignore them or be rude. Sometimes my social anxiety is worse on some days, and sometimes I just don’t know how to start a conversation.

It’s easiest for me to talk when somebody engages with me first. When I’m anxious I will usually get nauseous or even shaky sometimes. I find that using my weighted lap pad helps, and I stim too (hand flapping, rocking, finger wiggling, palm hand clapping, chewing, spinning, or playing with stim toys).

If I’m looking out the window, if I’m quiet, or if I’m stimming- I’m not ignoring people or trying to be rude.

 

photo credit: Kostya Romantikov <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/39666317@N08/29581196744″>Romantic mood</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

