The social difficulties that I struggle with as an Autistic person.

  1. Starting a conversation

This is really hard for me. I have a lot of trouble trying to come up with a topic to talk about with people.

      2. Maintaining a conversation

This is also difficult for me.

      3. Saying “Hi”.

This can be anxiety provoking for me. Often times I just say a quiet “Hi” back or I nod my head.

4. Eye contact

I have fairly good eye contact. I can maintain eye contact, but not for more than a couple minutes. I especially don’t like making eye contact with strangers.

5. Asking about something/Asking for help

Asking for help is hard for me. Asking about something can also be difficult.

  6. Trying to join in group conversations

Nope. I can never seem to do that.

 

To finish this up:

I am working on my social anxiety and social skills. I haven’t gotten to the point where I can socialize well, but I’m working on it. I may go backwards some days, and I may avoid some things, but I want to be able to at least learn how to socialize some- but not all the time because that would be too tiring.

 

photo credit: Roberto.Trombetta <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/29370225@N03/13471658213″>phuket</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

Leave a Reply

