Confessions of an Autistic person- I process things more slowly.

I sometimes have trouble processing things basically, I process slower than NT’s. Sometimes others get frustrated with me, because they want me to get something, but I’m still trying to think through the information in my brain. I need time to process things so that I can come up with a response.

The most important thing to remember with me? Patience, patience, patience. Wait for me to be done processing information, if I say “I’m still processing” then give me time to come up with a response. Once I have filtered all of the information through my brain, then I can come up with a response.

I also learn best when people show me how to do something. I am a visual thinker, so someone showing me how to do something can help me. Math, for instance, is hard for me to understand unless I have a paper or calculator in front of me.

So please be patient, I might not process things as fast as you, but I can still learn. 🙂

 

photo credit: National Institutes of Health (NIH) <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/132318516@N08/27507499486″>High Angular Resolution Diffusion Image of human brain</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

2 thoughts on “Confessions of an Autistic person- I process things more slowly.

Leave a Reply

