Things that I like to do that make me calm and happy as an Autistic person.

As an Autistic person, I can get anxious, frustrated, or sad at times. These are my favourite things to do that make me feel calm and happy.

Sing

I like to sing in a church choir with other people. My choir director is very loving and fun to be around. I find that when I sing (whether at home or in choir)  I feel better.

Draw

I sometimes like to draw (if I’m in the mood). I like drawing Manga and Animals.

(Some of my art is on my Tumblr page -Autistic and Ausome)

Read

There is nothing better than reading a good book (at least in my world). I like reading books about Autism,.horse books, and other books. If I really like a book I will go through it quite fast and then I will be sad because I need another book to read.

Work with my horse Shadow.

I like to work with my horse Shadow when I am not busy with school and other activities. Shadow is a great horse, he is so sweet and patient. One of the reasons I love horses so much is that they are sensory based animals and they have similar emotions to humans. I try to feel what Shadow is feeling when I am working with him, I try to read his body language so that I can communicate with him better.

Writing

Writing helps me get my thoughts and words out. 🙂 I find writing to be therapeutic for me.

 

photo credit: Pensiero <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/63894760@N00/2296335288″>Emotional Ride</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Things that I like to do that make me calm and happy as an Autistic person.

  1. Thank you for sharing your post. I find writing a blog to be helpful. I can print a post or share it to Facebook and help educate others. I also need to rock & especially hard when upset. I make jewelry and watch a lot of Netflix.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

