Sensory issues and clothing.

As an Autistic person, I can find certain clothing to be difficult to wear. I do not like wearing polos, lightweight breezy shirts that button, stiff fabric shirts, khakis, and long jeans. I like wearing shirts that are breathable and comfortable. I find that certain clothes are a “win” and that other clothes are not comfortable.

I find that polos are not breathable and they feel heavy and scratchy. I did not like wearing these because they made me feel hot and uncomfortable. I do not generally like wearing lightweight breezy shirts that button because they feel too light, and the buttons can be hard to navigate. Khakis are stiff, and long jeans are stiff.

The best clothing that I have found to wear are sports shirts and leggings. I like sports shirts and leggings because they are comfortable, breathable, and stretchy. They do not feel scratchy, so I like them. 🙂 I also like them because they don’t have buttons, which makes putting them on easier.

I occasionally find that I can wear the “uncomfortable” clothes to special occasions, but in general I prefer to stick to my sports shirts and leggings. I can’t stand a certain type of tights because whenever my dress slips over it, it makes my legs itch. 😦 I prefer to find soft tights that do not itch.

This is why some clothes can be uncomfortable for me as an Autistic person. I love my sports shirts and leggings, and I will continue to buy them and wear them.

photo credit: stevendepolo <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/10506540@N07/30424331486″>Dress Shirts on Hangars in Closet</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

