My anxiety steals my voice.

My anxiety steals my voice,

It whispers in my head,

it keeps me from feeling safe.

It makes me think of everything, everywhere, everyday.

It is like a monster inside my head,

a monster that will not leave,

a monster that has taken over me.

My stomach is in knots,

I feel like I’m wearing a tight belt,

and I’m just getting ready to see a friend,

who I have known for many years,

yet I still have fear.

Social anxiety,

I’m awkward,

weird,

and I don’t fit in.

My anxiety talks to me constantly,

it will not shut up.

It makes my palms sweat in front of a crowd,

and it makes my legs quiver and shake.

Will I ever win?

I just wish that I could interact,

I wish that I wasn’t awkward, I wish that I could be confident.

Will I ever get the words out?

 

This is a poem I wrote about my social anxiety.

 

photo credit: heinltier <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/35636054@N02/12788043333″>emotions</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My anxiety steals my voice.

Leave a Reply

