What causes Autism?

So what causes Autism? I’m going to answer this honestly, I don’t know. There have been several theories including

  • Chemicals
  • Vaccinations
  • Genetic

Personally, I do not believe that Vaccines cause Autism. I also do not believe that Autism is caused by chemicals (although chemicals are not good for the body). So, do I want to know what caused me to be Autistic? No. Becuase I am happy the way I am, if I had an opportunity to not be Autistic, I would not take it.

Yes, I face challenges such as sensory issues, social difficulties, anxiety, etc. But, I have positive characteristics of being Autistic. I am very rule bound, I am a visual thinker (I can remember different experiences), and I have many other strengths (see my blog post about strengths and weaknesses here)

https://autisticandawesomeblog.wordpress.com/2016/12/21/autistic-strengths-and-weaknesses/

I believe there needs to be more research on Autism and sensory issues so that we can try to find ways to treat issues such as sound sensitivity. I believe that we should not keep looking for a “cure” for Autism, but that we should focus on helping Autistic individuals by teaching them, supporting them, and trying to find ways to help them cope with sensory issues or anxiety.

Even if vaccines did cause Autism, we don’t need to prevent them. Vaccines help prevent disease, what is worse, a child that is different and has certain challenges? Or a child that catches a disease that could have been prevented by a vaccination?

Therapy can help Autistic people. I myself went through Physical, occupational, and speech therapy when I was younger. I believe that going to these therapies has helped me get to where I am today. I am thankful for the therapists who helped me in my therapies. I also believe that medication should be considered to help some Autistic people, but I believe that medications should be carefully considered with a Doctor/medical professional.

So, please stop looking for a cure, please accept Autistic’s for who they are. We do not need to be “Neurotypical”.

Please consult a Doctor/medical professional for information on therapies and medication. I am not a professional.

photo credit: Helge V. Keitel <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/17088227@N00/21236578204″>On call 24/7</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What causes Autism?

  1. I really like this post 😊. I wholeheartedly agree; research into sensory issues would be extremely helpful. Cures and prevention? Not so much (not at all!) Thank you for writing about this!πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

    Cheers,
    ~The Silent Wave Blog writer/Laina 🌟🌟

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

