Trying to learn to be Flexible.

Lately, I have been trying to learn to be more flexible. Flexibility is hard for me. If anything does not go as planned then this can make me anxious and upset. Some Autistic people can have trouble with being flexible, and I am one of them. I remind myself that this doesn’t mean that I am defective or bad. I just need to work on trying to be more flexible.

One of the reasons I have trouble with being flexible is because of my anxiety. If anything is changed in my routine, even one little thing, can mess up the whole routine and make my anxiety go up. I like things to be the same, I like to sit in the same spot in class, and I always order a Mango smoothie and candy cookie from Panera, it rarely ever changes.

I think it is important for me to have some routine, otherwise, I would not be able to function very well, but at the same time, I have to learn to be more flexible. Unfortunately, the world is not always going to stay the same, even though I would really like it to stay the same.

So, I am slowly trying to become slowly. It’s not going to be something that comes easy, but I’m hoping that in the long run that I will be able to learn to be more flexible. I am learning to control my reactions when there is change, I am trying to learn not to become super anxious or blow up if there is a change.

Flexibility, a hard thing, but a necessary thing.

 

photo credit: Santiago Sito <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/51899628@N03/27718101415″>agridulce / betersweet</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

 

One thought on “Trying to learn to be Flexible.

  1. Such a lovely post! I can definitely relate. I’m working on a similar issue. I think I’m making progress, but I “regress” a lot back into inflexibility when I’m tired, stressed, low blood sugar, or even hormone-imbalanced (!). So my flexibility waxes and wanes right now. That’s ok; I tell myself that if I’m not feeling flexible, there’s probably a good reason. Which means that maybe my flexibility skills might still be there, I just have to turn them inward and focus them on myself sometimes lol πŸ˜‰πŸ’žπŸ’ž. Thank you for the amazing post! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

