Sinking and rising.

My anxiety attacks,

Feeling nauseated,

Increased heart rate,

Burning pain in my stomach and chest.

 

Shakiness,

Fear,

Chaos in my head.

 

It’s a voice screaming in my head,

“You suck!”

“You can’t do this!”

“Everybody hates you!”

 

I feel overwhelmed by sound,

I hear every sound,

Every pitch,

All at once.

 

I am in sensory overload,

The flashing bright lights are like lasers to my eyes,

I am feeling tired,

So tired,

Drained of my energy,

It’s too much.

 

Meltdown,

Feeling like I want to scream,

Tight chest,

Tears,

Chaos.

 

Sometimes I feel very close to others,

And sometimes I do not,

Sometimes I start sinking,

Away from my friends and family members,

anxious and alone.

 

At some point, I start feeling better again, more confident, calmer,

I rise again,

But then a bad thing happens,

And I sink once again.

 

 

A poem I wrote about my struggles as an Autistic person and my anxiety.

Leave a Reply

