Anxiety and Autism, Prozac did not work for me

I have anxiety. I was put on Prozac (Fluoxetine) for my anxiety. My anxiety shows up in many different ways. I hate change, I am afraid of the dark, I have social anxiety, and I have obsessive compulsive behaviours. My compulsive behaviours include re-checking things constantly and making sure some things are correct, such as closing an open stair gate in the house. Sometimes I will get upsetting thoughts such as other family members getting hurt, or our barn catching on fire with my beloved horses inside of it.

Prozac did not work for me. This month I have had 6 anxiety attacks. My symptoms were shakiness, burning in chest and stomach, increased heart rate, tingling sensations, tight chest, and tight muscles. I also had suicidal thoughts from my anxiety and a huge meltdown. So yes, Prozac did not work for me. I was on Prozac for around 5 weeks.

My doctor decided to switch me to Zoloft. Zoloft is also a SSRI, but it is a little bit different than Prozac. I am starting out on a 25 mg dose to make sure I don’t react negatively to it. I am hoping the Zoloft will work with me. I will have to wait for four weeks to see if it works or not. Prozac didn’t work for me, but that does not mean that it cannot work for everyone. I know another family member who is on Prozac and is doing very well on it. Different individuals react differently to different types of medication.

Anxiety and Autism, it isn’t easy, but I will keep fighting.

One thought on “Anxiety and Autism, Prozac did not work for me

Leave a Reply

