The monster arises

The monster arises,

Slowly creeping,

Its voice whispers,

And then starts to scream,

It plays with my body like a puppet,

Tingling in my hands in legs,

Heart starting to beat louder, faster, stronger

Muscles tightening,

My thoughts are whirling,

I want to escape,

I want to scream,

To make it go away,

The feeling goes on,

The minutes tick by slowly,

After what seems like an hour,

The monster goes away,

Its voice stops,

My mind quiets down,

My muscles relax,

The tingling fades,

And my heart slows down,

I can now breathe again,

Anxiety, a monster,

You may be strong,

But I will not let you win        ;

One thought on “The monster arises

Leave a Reply

