Please don’t “Tease” me or joke about me being Autistic.

Sometimes I get very frustrated because people tease me about being Autistic. I’ve had good friends that I think unintentionally teased me and hurt my feelings, because they don’t know what it is like to be autistic. I’ve heard my fair share of comments that make me feel upset. The best thing to do is to try to remember, we can’t control our reactions to certain things. A sudden loud sound can make me jump, it is an automatic reaction of my nervous system. It hurts when people laugh and tease me or joke about me being Autistic.

It’s ok when I joke about it, but I don’t like it when people laugh when I am startled. It makes me feel different and ashamed. It’s not my fault, if I had a choice I would make my nervous system to where it wouldn’t jump at loud, sudden sounds or movement, but I can’t change that. So what can people do that will help me? Well people could learn to not laugh at me, and ask me if I am ok. That would be helpful.

Yes, I know, it’s silly in neurotypical eyes to watch an Autistic person jump at a loud noise, but imagine if you were the person? How would you feel? This is what frustrates me about neurotypcial people, they can’t understand because they can’t experience the overload.

I hope that someday people will not tease or joke about me being Autistic. It may be hard to deal with people who don’t understand Autism, but I will keep going forward.

2 thoughts on “Please don’t “Tease” me or joke about me being Autistic.

Leave a Reply

